Saying Goodbye to 2016

on

img_0006

Another year has flown by and just like every year now, I’m so amazed to how fast its gone! To me, 2016 lasted as long as a blink and all of a sudden we’re starting another chapter of our lives. 2016 has given me many highlights along with many challenges! I thought I would write this blog post as it’s something that I can look back on and remind myself of what I achieved and what I want to achieve this year! ( and there’s a lot… I’ve set myself many goals this year as that’s something that I didn’t do last year).

One of the things I loved the most in 2016 was dancing. Anyone that knows me knows that I prioritise dance 99% of the time and I have had to miss out on a lot of things because I wanted to dance. Every 18 months we put on a whole dance school show and those weekends are one hundred percent my favourite weekends of the year and anyone you ask will tell you how much I love them. In terms of achieving goals this year with dance, I’ve told myself that I will start my teaching degree with my dance school but I will also take my advanced ballet and jazz exams, that way I’ve taken all the exams I possibly can.  I also spent my night last night stalking this girl on instagram who dances on a cruise line and now that’s all I want to do. 🤔.. one step at a time Lys.

img_0001

 

Back to blogging. I re-designed my blog a couple of months ago and I really want to get back into writing. I’ve been told that I’m quiet a funny writer and to be honest I just write for myself but if people enjoy reading my content it’s just a bonus for me. In terms of content for this year, I definitely want to bake and cook more because people seem to enjoy those type of posts but my main focus will be my experiences throughout this coming year such as holidays and trips away as these are more of diary forms for me to look back on. (Stay tuned) I’ll also try not to get hung up on those people who feel the need to put others down to make themselves feel better. I received my first hate last year too which was kind of funny.

 

One thing that I very much enjoyed last year was going away to different places in the U.K. One of my New Years resolutions is to get myself across the beautiful country that I live in. One of the places that I saw last year was Lincoln, my best friend started uni there, so me and my other best friend told ourselves that we would get over there for the Christmas markets (which we did). It’s such a small, yet pretty city and I want to get myself to Lincoln again this year to discover more. One place that I’m desperate to see this year is Scotland. I’ve never been to Scotland or at least remember it so I would love to get myself up there for the Fringe Fest. Many bloggers and Youtubers that I follow visited Edinburgh and it looked amazing. IT’S A MUST THIS YEAR. 😍

img_0038

 

It can’t be a New Years post without a resolution regarding health and fitness. I feel like last year was the first year in many that I finally got to grips with my body type. It’s pretty much impossible to get yourself away from the social media obsession on body types and no one ever seems happy about how they look but I kinda did. (Can I say that)? Looking forward to 2017 I want to get back into running 10K races. I took part in a York 10K race last summer but I’m going to try and apply for a few more. I’ve also set myself this goal of working out everyday and I’m not too sure that I will be able to do that for 365 days but we’re 5 days in and I’m still going (only 360 to go). 💪🏻. I’ve also completed a few sessions of yoga the past few days and I’ve really enjoyed that, it’s so good for you and works together with my dance so I’m going to continue on with that!

 

In terms of friendships in 2016 I learnt that you can’t predict what’s going to happen.  A lot of people have come and gone in my life in the past year and what I’ve discovered is that sometimes you can’t get that friendship back and that’s okay. I’ve learnt that it’s definitely better having a group of 5 real friends rather than 15 and that’s also okay.   I’m thankful for the people in my life at the minute and I can honestly say that those people who I surround myself with everyday are the best people I’ve ever had/want.

 

Here’s to another year of challenges, friendships and happiness

 

X x x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

