Coping With Stress

on

exams1

 

I’m not generally a stressful person and I actually have  quite a chilled attitude most of the time, however when some things are on my mind my stress levels seem to go through the roof. I think the key to coping with stress is accepting that sometimes everyone will get anxious or down and you just need to find the right way to cope in these situations, whether it be exam time, a driving test or just simply something on your mind, I believe that there are certain things you can do to stop you going insane.

I have taken quite a lot of exams in my lifetime and even though everyone dreads exams (and you’re lying if you don’t) they actually push you to do your best. Here is my list of tips that I have learnt along the way of how to cope with exam stress.

 

-You can only do your best-

I personally believe that this is my top tip. You know in yourself when you have done your best and I think that’s all you can do. After an exam you might come out feeling awful and thinking that maybe if you have revised for 15 more minutes it would have made all the difference but you just need to think back to that time of learning and put it into perspective. You can’t drive yourself up the wall thinking all the ‘what if’s’ so as long as you know in yourself you did your best you shouldn’t worry.

 

-Look after yourself-

Exam stress or any kind of stress for that matter seems to build up so quickly and before you know it you feel as though all the weight is on your shoulders and you just feel like you can’t do it any more. Right? I’ve learnt over the past year or so that one of the best ways of helping yourself out is taking care of me (or you). Try and relax, take a break, have a Kit-Kat do whatever helps you zone out for a few minutes. I just tend to close my books or notes and chill out by watching TV for half an hour or so. Putting F.R.I.E.N.D.S on and getting a cup of tea is never a bad idea for some chill out time.

I’ve also heard that if you are struggling with sleeping at night due to stress, a relaxing bath with some Himalayan Detox Bath Salts beforehand will completely sort you out. (Poppy Deyes wrote a review on these salts, they sound and look pretty amazing). I personally haven’t tried them as I’ve only heard about them recently but everyone is raving about them, I would for sure look into these for a relaxing nights sleep.

 

-Exercise-

Now I know this isn’t for everyone and most people would rather spend the night (or day) in their pjs watching KUWTK, but I love exercising when I’m stressed. I dance 3 nights a week and when it was my exam period dance really did help me through it. I’m not sure whether it was dance itself or if it was the overall exercise that helped me, but something did. It was a good break from looking at my laptop screen and I felt revitalised afterwards for sure. It doesn’t have to be a long workout, or even a workout for that matter, just a 10 minute walk somewhere for a little fresh air will surely help you out a little bit. Throw in some pick me up tunes and you’re good to go.

If in doubt, work it out.

 

-Music-

Music is the root to any mood. It’s amazing how different artists and songs can change how you feel. You can go from a 0 to a solid 8 in about 0.47493 seconds, it’s incredible. Some people listen to songs when they revise, personally I can’t. I’ve tried numerous times, but all I seem to do is sing along and that just distracts me even more and being a procrastinator is not a good thing when you have grades to get. I do however turn to music when I want some down time and any chill out playlist is sure to be on. Don’t think that music is only there for relaxing, it’s also a great pick me up tool for after an exam or any situation where you may feel a bit ‘meh’. At the moment I am OBSESSED with Cheap Thrills by Sia but find any songs that get  you in the bestest mood and put them on repeat. No one wants cranky company.

 

-What does stress do?-

A girl once said to me ‘Why are you stressing? It helps no one.’ and for some reason that really stuck with me. How does stress help anyone? It doesn’t. I was just so taken aback about what she had said to me. I understand what our reasoning behind stress is as everyone has something going on that puts them very ‘on edge’ but why do we stress? No one wants to be around someone who is cranky or moody or whatever so why do we put ourselves through it. Since then I’ve just tried my best to not be so snappy with anyone that’s around me because why should they have the backlash of a situation that put me in a foul mood? Even if you have to fake it until you make it, nothing’s worse than being made to feel down purely due to the people that surround you.

SMILES ARE CONTAGIOUS.

I hope at least one of these points were useful to you in some way and may your life be a little less stressful.

Thanks for reading and let me know how you cope with stress..(I find it hard to take my own advice sometimes).

 

X X X

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

